Artist Spotlight: Airam Dato-on

January 26th, 2024

“I'll try out anything that is put in front of me. I like the challenge and I don't mind taking risks.

I'm a graphic designer turned photographer turned social media marketer turned community builder for photographers. All three somehow careen altogether at times. I embrace the quote "A jack of all trades is a master of none, but oftentimes better than a master of one." This flows throughout my life and career. I enjoy trying new things and being able to do many other things.

My body of work is a mix of life experiences and my educational background. From wanting to bring out the confidence of people to the more artistic side of things that is influenced by art history, my work is a big embodiment of experimentation and evolution.”

Conventional wisdom in photography says that specific times of day will make your photos “better”. This window of time, the golden hour, occurs when the sun begins to set and its light is not as powerful. Photographers can finesse that softer light and push their lenses to do more.

I bring this up because, when I first began reviewing Airam’s work, it quickly became clear that he doesn’t mind steering against conventional wisdom in pursuit of something new and original. His larger portfolio, which I encourage you to explore, is full of images that break rules of photography in one way or another. The resulting colors and details are so sharp that scrolling too fast will cause the images to slice through the top of your screen and shoot pixels all over the ceiling.

Beyond being a talented shooter, it’s obvious that Airam is passionate about bringing other artists together. That’s ultimately why I wanted to feature him. A compelling portfolio is important, but a willingness to share how it’s done is far more valuable.

Airam provided responses to the questions below. Enjoy.

How are you feeling today?

Where are you from?

What is your favorite color?

What do you do (or where do you go) to relax?

What scares you?

What does the future hold?

What matters the most?

Provide some bad advice.

Don’t take risks.

Thank you for your time.

Follow artist on Instagram @airamdphoto or through his website https://stan.store/airamdphoto

Please consider subscribing for free to receive new content weekly. If you like what this is about, you can support this newsletter through Patreon ($3/mo) or through the print store.