Artist Spotlight: Abbye

September 15th, 2023

“My name is Abbye and I'm a street photographer from Tacoma, WA. It wasn't until high-school I had the opportunity to study film photography. I spent most of my teenage years experimenting with my fathers old 35mm film camera and a few point and shoot cameras. I pursued photography in my junior college, spending countless hours in the darkroom. It was the best place I could be.

My subject focus gradually changed over the years. I started with portraits by asking family members and neighbors. However, being a shy person, I was unaware of how this was a building block to my current style, street photography.

After graduating college, I didn't have the opportunity to shoot film so I dove into digital photography. After 2015, I spent many years experimenting with different subject matter ranging from formal portraits to bird photography.

2020 was ironically the year I got into street photography. I learned how to shoot in the streets during a time of unusual stillness. Further building my courage to shoot photographs of strangers.

As of right now street and concert photography are my primary focus. My go to cameras at the moment are my Ricoh Gr3x and FujifilmX100v.

I love seeing the oddities and compassion of human behavior and the way we interact with one another. Having my camera gives me a sense of purpose and motivation. It helps me see the details of people that make them unique. “

I find Abbye’s abilities impressive in two different respects. She can create powerful images at concerts and fandom conventions, but she can also find landscapes that capture that profound stillness we all associate with peace. I wanted to feature her because, above all else, you can tell she likes to make photographs.

She provided answers to the questions below. Enjoy.

How are you feeling today?

Where are you from?

What is your favorite color?

What do you do (or where do you go) to relax?

What scares you?

What does the future hold?

What matters the most?

Provide some bad advice.

Don't show up, and make sure no one hears your voice.

Thank you for your time.

Follow Abbye on Instagram (@abbye.rose).

Please consider subscribing for free to receive new content weekly. If you like what this is about, you can support this newsletter through Patreon ($3/mo) or through the print store. The print store password is “mereautonomymotif(mere-autonomy-motif). Everything between the quotes. No capitals. No spaces.